Evostar 2016

The Leading European Event on Bio-Inspired Computation.

Porto, Portugal, 30 March - 1 April 2016

Evolutionary Computation in Robotics

The EvoROBOT track focusses on evolutionary robotics: the application of evolutionary computation techniques to automatically design the controllers and/or hardware of autonomous robots, real or simulated. This is by nature a multi-faceted field that combines approaches from other fields such as neuro-evolution, evolutionary design, artificial life, robotics, et cetera. We seek high quality contributions dealing with state-of-the-art research in the area of evolutionary robotics.

Topics include but are not limited to:
  • Evolution of (neural) robot controllers;
  • Evolution of modular robot morphology;
  • Hardware/morphology and controller co-evolution;
  • Open-ended evolution in robotics;
  • Robotic evolutionary Artificial Life;
  • Evolutionary self-assembly and self-replication;
  • Evolution, development and learning;
  • Evolutionary and co-evolutionary approaches.

Best paper award

Frontiers in Robotics and AI is offering the best paper award at the upcoming EvoROBOT track in EvoApplications. The Evolutionary Robotics specialty grants the winner a full waiver of the publication fee for the submission of an extended version of the work presented at EvoROBOT in Porto this year. Naturally, the final decision to publish the extended version will be made adhering to the Frontiers policies of originality and review.

EvoROBOT track chairs

  • Evert Haasdijk
  • VU University Amsterdam
  • A.E. Eiben
  • VU University Amsterdam

Programme Committee

  • Joshua Auerbach (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Nicolas Bredeche (Institut des Systèmes Intelligents et de Robotique, France)
  • Anders Christensen (University Institute of Lisbon, ISCTE-IUL, Portugal)
  • Stephane Doncieux (Institut des Systèmes Intelligents et de Robotique, France)
  • Marco Dorigo (Universite Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium)
  • Heiko Hamann (University of Paderborn, Germany)
  • Jacqueline Heinerman (VU Univeristy Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
  • Joost Huizinga (University of Wyoming, United States)
  • Jean-Marc Montanier (Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain)
  • Jean-Baptiste Mouret (INRIA Larsen Team, France)
  • Geoff Nitschke (University of Cape Town, South Africa)
  • Stefano Nolfi (Institute of Cognitive Sciences and Technologies, Italy)
  • Kai Olav Ellefsen (University of Wyoming, United States)
  • Abraham Prieto (University of La Coruña, Spain)
  • Diederik Roijers (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
  • Claudio Rossi (Universidad Politecnica De Madrid, Spain)
  • Sanem Sariel (Istanbul Teknik Universitesi, Turkey)
  • Thomas Schmickl (University of Graz, Austria)
  • Kasper Stoy (IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Jon Timmis (University of York, United Kingdom)
  • Roby Velez (University of Wyoming, United States)
  • Alan Winfield (University of the West of England, United Kingdom)

Important dates:

Submission Deadline: 1 November 2015
EXTENDED DEADLINE: 11 November 2015
(site remains open for final changes until 15 Nov)
Notification: 4 January 2016
Camera-ready: 18 January 2016
Mandatory registration per paper: 15 February
Student bursary deadline: 20 February
Early registration discount: 25 February 2016
Registration deadline: 24 March
EvoStar dates: 30 March - 1 April 2016