The 23rd European Conference on Genetic Programming (EuroGP) 2020 conference will take place in the city of Seville, Spain, as part of EvoStar (Evo*).

EuroGP is the premier annual conference on Genetic Programming (GP), the oldest and the only meeting worldwide devoted specifically to this branch of evolutionary computation. It is always a high-quality, enjoyable, friendly event, attracting participants from all continents, and offering excellent opportunities for networking, informal contact, and exchange of ideas with fellow researchers. It will feature a mixture of oral presentations and poster sessions and invited keynote speakers. EuroGP is featured in the conference ranking database CORE.

You can consult the proceedings of previous events at EuroGP Conference Proceedings in SpringerLink

The proceedings of EuroGP 2020 are available online following the link. (NEW!)

A comprehensive bibliography of genetic programming literature and links to related material is accessible at the Genetic Programming Bibliography web page, part of the Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies maintained and managed by William Langdon, Steven Gustafson, and John Koza.

Download the EuroGP flyer (PDF)

Conference Chairs

  • Ting Hu
    Queen’s University, Canada
  • Nuno Lourenço
    University of Coimbra, Portugal

Publication Chair

  • Eric Medvet 
    University of Trieste, Italy

Areas of Interest and Contributions

This year, we have a special focus on GP and Artificial Intelligence: GP for interpretable AI and towards general AI. A list of topics includes but is not limited to:

  • Innovative applications of GP
  • Theoretical developments
  • GP performance and behaviour
  • Fitness landscape analysis of GP
  • Algorithms, representations and operators
  • Real-world applications
  • Search-based software engineering
  • Genetic improvement programming
  • Evolutionary design
  • Evolutionary robotics
  • Tree-based GP and Linear GP
  • Graph-based GP and Grammar-based GP
  • Evolvable hardware
  • Self-reproducing programs
  • Multi-population GP
  • Multi-objective GP
  • Fast/Parallel GP
  • Probabilistic GP
  • Evolution of automata or machines
  • Object-oriented GP
  • Hybrid architectures including GP
  • Coevolution in GP
  • Modularity in GP
  • Semantics in GP
  • Unconventional evolvable computation
  • Automatic software maintenance
  • Evolutionary inductive programming

Publication Details

This year, we have a special focus on GP and artificial intelligence: GP for interpretable AI and towards general AI. All accepted papers will be printed in the proceedings published by Springer Nature in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series. Outstanding contributions may be recommended for publication in a special issue of the Genetic Programming and Evolvable Machines journal.

Previous editions of EuroGP were published in the following Springer Verlag LNCS volumes

2019 LNCS 11451
2018 LNCS 10781
2017 LNCS 10196
2016 LNCS 9594
2015 LNCS 9025
2014 LNCS 8599
2013 LNCS 7831
2012 LNCS 7244
2011 LNCS 6621
2010 LNCS 6021
2009 LNCS 5481
2008 LNCS 4971
2007 LNCS 4445
2006 LNCS 3905
2005 LNCS 3447
2004 LNCS 3003
2003 LNCS 2610
2002 LNCS 2278
2001 LNCS 2038
2000 LNCS 1802
1999 LNCS 1598
1998 LNCS 1391

The papers which receive the best reviews will be nominated for the Best Paper Award.

Submission Details

Submissions must be original and not published elsewhere. They will be peer reviewed by at least three members of the program committee. The reviewing process will be double-blind, so please omit information about the authors in the submitted paper. Submit your manuscript in Springer LNCS format. Page limit is 16 pages.

Authors of accepted papers will have to improve their paper on the basis of the reviewers’ comments and will be asked to send a camera ready version of their manuscripts. At least one author of each accepted work has to register for the conference, attend the conference and present the work.

Submission link:

Presentation Details

  • Long talks: Your work will be presented in a 20 minute talk followed by a 5 minute discussion round. We also encourage you to bring and present a poster in the poster session to take advantage of a more informal and direct feedback.
  • Short talks (posters): Your work will be presented in a 10 minute talk (no discussion round) and in a poster session. Please be aware that oral and poster presentations are MANDATORY.

Best Paper Candidates

  • Stefano Ruberto, Valerio Terragni and Jason Moore.
    SGP-DT: Semantic Genetic Programming Based on Dynamic Targets
  • Anil Saini and Lee Spector.
    Effect of Parent Selection Methods on Modularity
  • Luca Mariot, Stjepan Picek, Domagoj Jakobovic and Alberto Leporati.
    An Evolutionary View on Reversible Shift-invariant Transformations

Programme Committee

Ignacio Arnaldo, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
R. Muhammad Atif Azad, Birmingham City University, UK
Wolfgang Banzhaf, Michigan State University, USA
Helio Barbosa, Federal University of Juiz de Fora, Brazil
Heder Bernardino, Federal University of Juiz de Fora, Brazil
Anthony Brabazon, University College Dublin, Ireland
Stefano Cagnoni, University of Parma, Italy
Mauro Castelli, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
Ernesto Costa, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Marc Ebner, Universität Greifswald, Germany
Anna Esparcia-Alcazar, Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain
Francisco Fernandez de Vega, Universidad de Extremadura, Spain
Gianluigi Folino, ICAR-CNR, Italy
James Foster, University of Idaho, USA
Christian Gagné, Université Laval, Canada
Jin-Kao Hao, University of Angers, France
Erik Hemberg, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Malcolm Heywood, Dalhousie University, Canada
Ignacio Hidalgo, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
Ting Hu, Queen’s University, Canada
Domagoj Jakobović, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Colin Johnson, University of Kent, UK
Ahmed Kattan, Loughborough University, UK
William B. Langdon, University College London, UK
Nuno Lourenço, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Penousal Machado, University of Coimbra, Portugal
James McDermott, National University of Ireland, Ireland
Eric Medvet, University of Trieste, Italy
Quang Uy Nguyen, Military Technical Academy, Vietnam
Miguel Nicolau, University College Dublin, Ireland
Julio Cesar Nievola, Pontificia Universidade Catolica do Parana, Brazil
Michael O’Neill, University College Dublin, Ireland
Ender Ozcan, University of Nottingham, UK
Gisele Pappa, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil
Andrew J. Parkes, University of Nottingham, UK
Tomasz Pawlak, Poznan University of Technology, Poland
Stjepan Picek, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
Clara Pizzuti, Institute for High Performance Computing and Networking, Italy
Thomas Ray, University of Oklahoma, USA
Peter Rockett, University of Sheffield, UK
Álvaro Rubio-Largo, Universidad de Extremadura, Spain
Conor Ryan, University of Limerick, Ireland
Marc Schoenauer, INRIA, France
Lukas Sekanina, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic
Sara Silva, University of Lisbon, Portugal
Moshe Sipper, Ben-Gurion University, Israel
Lee Spector, Hampshire College, USA
Jerry Swan, University of York, UK
Ivan Tanev, Doshisha University, Japan
Ernesto Tarantino, ICAR-CNR, Italy
Leonardo Trujillo, Instituto Tecnológico de Tijuana, Mexico
Leonardo Vanneschi, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
Zdenek Vasicek, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic
David White, University of Sheffield, UK
Man Leung Wong, Lingnan University, Hong Kong
Bing Xue, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
Mengjie Zhang, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand