The 23rd European Conference on Evolutionary Computation in Combinatorial Optimisation is a multidisciplinary conference that brings together researchers working on applications and theory of evolutionary computation methods and other metaheuristics for solving difficult combinatorial optimisation problems appearing in various industrial, economic, and scientific domains.

Successfully solved problems include, but are not limited to, multi-objective, uncertain, dynamic and stochastic problems in the context of scheduling, timetabling, network design, transportation and distribution, vehicle routing, stringology, graphs, satisfiability, energy optimisation, cutting, packing, planning and search-based software engineering.

The EvoCOP 2023 conference will be held together with EuroGP (the 26th European Conference on Genetic Programming), EvoMUSART (the 12th European conference on evolutionary and biologically inspired music, sound, art and design) and EvoApplications (the 26th European Conference on the Applications of Evolutionary Computation), in a joint event collectively known as EvoStar (Evo*).

Accepted papers will be published by Springer Nature in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. Previous proceedings can be found in the EvoCOP Conference Proceedings in SpringerLink.

Download the CFP in PDF.

NEW: The proceedings of EvoCOP 2023 are available following this link.

Conference Chairs

  • Leslie Pérez-Cáceres
    Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso, Chile
  • Thomas Stützle
    Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium

Areas of Interest and Contributions

EvoCOP welcomes submissions in all experimental and theoretical aspects of evolutionary computation and other metaheuristics to combinatorial optimisation problems, including (but not limited to) the following areas:

  • Applications of metaheuristics to combinatorial optimization problems
  • Theoretical developments
  • Neighbourhoods and efficient algorithms for searching them
  • Variation operators for stochastic search methods
  • Constraint-handling techniques
  • Parallelisation and grid computing
  • Search space and landscape analyses
  • Comparisons between different (also exact) methods
  • Automatic algorithm configuration and design

Prominent examples of metaheuristics include (but are not limited to):

  • Evolutionary algorithms
  • Estimation of distribution algorithms
  • Swarm intelligence methods such as ant colony and particle swarm optimisation
  • Artificial immune systems
  • Local search methods such as simulated annealing, tabu search, variable neighbourhood search, iterated local search, scatter search and path relinking
  • Hybrid methods such as memetic algorithms
  • Matheuristics (hybrids of exact and heuristic methods)
  • Hyper-heuristics and autonomous search
  • Surrogate-model-based methods

Notice that, by tradition, continuous/numerical optimisation is *not* part of the topics of interest of EvoCOP. Interested authors might consider submitting to other EvoStar conferences such as EvoApplications.

Submission Details

Paper submissions must be original and not published elsewhere. The submissions will be peer reviewed by members of the program committee. The reviewing process will be double-blind, please omit information about the authors in the submitted paper. Submit your manuscript in Springer LNCS format.

Page limit: 16 pages

Submission link:

The authors of accepted papers will have to improve their paper on the The authors of accepted papers will have to improve their paper on the basis of the reviewers’ comments and will be asked to send a camera ready version of their manuscripts (notifications will be sent on 18 January, 2023 and the camera-ready deadline will be on 1 February, 2023). At least one author of each accepted work has to register for the conference not later than 27 February 2023, attend the conference and present the work.

Programme Committee

Richard Allmendinger, The University of Manchester
Matthieu Basseur, LISIC, Université du Littoral Côte d’Opale, France
Christian Blum, Spanish National Research Council (CSIC)
Alexander Brownlee, University of Stirling
Maxim Buzdalov, ITMO University
Arina Buzdalova, ITMO University
Christian Camacho Villalon, Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB)
Josu Ceberio, University of the Basque Country
Marco Chiarandini, University of Southern Denmark
Francisco Chicano, University of Málaga
Carlos Coello Coello, CINVESTAV-IPN
Carlos Cotta, Universidad de Málaga
Nguyen Dang, St Andrews University
Bilel Derbel, CRIStAL (Univ. Lille)
Marcos Diez García, Fujitsu Research of Europe Limited, Slough, UK
Karl Doerner, University of Vienna
Benjamin Doerr, Ecole Polytechnique
Carola Doerr, Sorbonne University, CNRS, France
Talbi El-Ghazali, University of Lille
Jonathan Fieldsend, University of Exeter
Carlos M. Fonseca, University of Coimbra
Alberto Franzin, Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB)
Bernd Freisleben, TU Darmstadt
Carlos García-Martínez, Computing and Numerical Analysis Dept. Univ. of Córdoba
Adrien Goeffon, LERIA – Universite d’Angers
Andreia Guerreiro, University of Coimbra
Jin-Kao Hao, University of Angers, France
Geir Hasle, SINTEF Digital
Mario Inostroza-Ponta, Departamento de Ingeniería Informática, Universidad de Santiago de Chile
Ekhine Irurozki, Telecom Paris
Thomas Jansen, Aberystwyth University
Andrzej Jaszkiewicz, Poznan University of Technology
Marie-Eleonore Kessaci, Université de Lille, Laboratoire CRIStAL
Ahmed Kheiri, Lancaster University
Frederic Lardeux, LERIA – University of Angers
Rhydian Lewis, Cardiff University
Arnaud Liefooghe, Univ Lille, CNRS, Inria, Centrale Lille, UMR 9189 CRIStAL
Manuel López-Ibáñez, The University of Manchester
Jose A. Lozano, The University of the Basque Country
Gabriel Luque, University of Málaga
Krzysztof Michalak, Wroclaw University of Economics
Elizabeth Montero, Universidad Andres Bello
Nysret Musliu, TU Wien
Gabriela Ochoa, University of Stirling
Pietro S Oliveto, University Of Sheffield
Beatrice Ombuki-Berman, Brock University, Department of Computer Science
Luis Paquete, University of Coimbra
Mario Pavone, University of Catania
Paola Pellegrini, IFSTTAR
Francisco Pereira, Instituto Superior de Engenharia de Coimbra
Pedro Pinacho, Universidad de Concepción
Daniel Porumbel, CEDRIC, CNAM (Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers), Paris, France
Jakob Puchinger, EM Normandie Business School
Abraham Punnen, Simon Fraser University
Günther Raidl, Vienna University of Technology
María Cristina Riff, Universidad Tecnica Federico Santa Maria
Marcus Ritt, Instituto de Informatica, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul
Eduardo Rodriguez-Tello, Cinvestav-Tamaulipas
Andrea Roli, University of Bologna
Hana Rudová, Masaryk University
Valentino Santucci, University for Foreigners of Perugia
Frédéric Saubion, LERIA – University of Angers
Kevin Sim, Edinburgh Napier University
Jim Smith, University of the West of England
Dirk Sudholt, University of Passau
Sara Tari, Université du Littoral Côte d’Opale
Renato Tinós, USP
Nadarajen Veerapen, University of Lille
Sébastien Verel, Université du Littoral Côte d’Opale
Markus Wagner, The University of Adelaide
Carsten Witt, Technical University of Denmark
Christine Zarges, Aberystwyth University
Fangfang Zhang, Victoria University of Wellington